Home > MOSS, MS SharePoint Sever, sharepoint, sps > “Render Failed”, The Workaround

“Render Failed”, The Workaround

Some time has passed when I encountered this problem:

<!– #RENDER FAILED –>    
(a View of a doc lib with a filter involving “Approved” value, a doc lib i.e. workflow enabled) 

It was not a good situation. There were less than two days left between the build and its presentation to the CIO. Adding to my misery, the two days constituted the precious weekend.

So, the situation is somewhat like this:
Official timings for Friday are gone, Im sitting in my office, searching through blogs and communities in the hope that someone must have encountered something of the similar. And yes, looked like the whole world was having the same problem. I found communities, blogs and newsgroups listing the <!– #RENDER FAILED –> problem everywhere…………..but……………..only the problem……………….and not the solution. I browsed pages after pages, blogs after blogs, communities after communities and sometimes big names suggesting no solution but only the problem………….(yes less than two days to go, i think u guys can well imagine my trauma and the strenuous condition i was in)……..

 But Just In Time (JIT), it was microsoft which came as a last minute savior………and the celebrated KB Article 925425 was published on May 14, 2007.

So here is the scenario:

  • You create a new Doc Library in Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (MOSS 2007).
  • You create a new workflow on the new doc library settings page. This new workflow uses the Approval template under Settings.
  • You create a new view in the doc library. To do this, you select the workflow that you created from the list in the Filter section of the new view. Under the new workflow, you select not equal to. Then, you type Approved in the filter field.

In this scenario, you receive the following error message when you try to select the new view in the doc library:

 

Here is the workaround to this problem:

To work around this problem, add the integer value for the Approved string in the filter field when you create the new view. To do this, follow these steps: 

  • In SharePoint, locate the doc library, next to View click the view that you want to change, and then click Modify this view.
  • In the Filter section, delete Approved from the filter field. Then, type 16.
  • Note The number 16 is the integer value for the Approved string.
  • Click OK to save the changes.
  • Hope u ppl are able to find this out rather easily……………..:)

    1. July 12, 2007 at 12:01 pm

      Well done Gull.. .. keep it up.

    2. Cynthia
      July 13, 2007 at 11:39 pm

      Hello! I am also having a render failed problem… but this is not using workflows.. I have a document library (as a webpart) on a simple .aspx page.. and I am connecting it to another webpart to filter out some of my documents…. On the actual document webpart… whenever I group my documents and collapse them by any tag.. I get the render failed message…. if they aren’t collapsed it works fine… any ideas how I can collapse them and still have this thing work????

      Any advice will be helpful!!

    3. October 29, 2007 at 9:14 am

      Very very nice article rehman, i was also stuck in the same scenario as yours. This post helped me alot.

      Thanks again,
      Sanjiv Singh

    4. thomas
      October 31, 2007 at 7:33 pm

      how do i get in contact with you about a consulting opp? email me. tmuhn@opensystemstech.com

    5. December 19, 2007 at 9:05 am

      Couldn’t imagine how would a better writer of skill would write.

    6. Nick
      May 20, 2008 at 4:36 am

      Dude!! You saved my sanity. I have found that “In Progress” has a code of 2. What would be really helpful if is someone could post the entire list of integers.

    7. May 21, 2008 at 12:34 pm

      The following link explains the different possible values of the Workflow status field… This is another example of some of the “strangeness” microsoft has us jump through… Hope the link helps, Thanks Rehman for putting us on the right track.

      http://www.sharepointblogs.com/dwise/archive/2006/12/11/howto-filter-a-view-based-on-workflow-status.aspx

    8. May 22, 2008 at 10:41 pm

      Here is the entire list,

      Not Started 0
      Failed on Start 1
      In Progress 2
      Error Occurred 3
      Canceled 4
      Completed 5
      Failed on Start (retrying) 6
      Error Occurred (retrying) 7
      Canceled 15 * This is defined but I don’t think this value is used
      Approved 16
      Rejected 17

      courtesy:
      http://www.sharepointblogs.com/dwise/archive/2006/12/11/howto-filter-a-view-based-on-workflow-status.aspx

      • Ravi Dinavahi
        February 12, 2010 at 4:30 pm

        Guys! You are all awesome. Thanks for your info. I will repay when it is my turn.

    9. Travis B. Creighton
      June 11, 2008 at 10:32 pm

      I was receiving the — #RENDER FAILED — in a web part while viewing the Central Admin site. The eventual fix was a forceful removal of .NET 2.0 with the .NET CleanUp Tool and a .NET reinstall up to .NET 3.0 SP1. WSS SP1 was also re-applied.

      Travis B. Creighton

    10. SSJ
      July 3, 2008 at 1:05 pm

      Thank you very much for the information.
      I was stuck and this article helped me.

    11. Ranjit
      October 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

      Thank you ! I was looking for the type and value. Appreciate your post and also the list.

    12. rachel allen
      January 27, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      Unfortuantely I have not found my ‘‘ issue resolution. The many reasons I have seen searching on the web has not helped me. I used to be able to use the filter list on my view, however when trying now, I get that horrible error. I have seen comments that maybe if the database is getting too big, it may do this, but I have not seen the solution. All the data is needed and so don’t know how to get this back. Any help would be greatly apprciated.

    13. January 28, 2009 at 4:45 pm

      I had created a view that grouped items and showed the groups collapsed. This gave the Render Failed error.

      When I changed the view to display the groups expanded they showed OK.

    14. Joshua Yeidel
      September 25, 2009 at 6:21 pm

      Thanks for this post — you saved me many frantic hours. My situation did not involve a workflow, but the issue that caused “#RENDER FAILED” was a similar mismatch between a field value and a filter value. I had a “Choice” field with names, and was trying to filter on “contains [Me]”.

      Of course, “[Me]” is a Person/Group value, not a text string. When I changed it to “contains Joshua”, the problem went away.

      • sharon
        April 12, 2010 at 11:37 pm

        Joshua – I have a similar issue to yours but HOW do you solve this when you need a filter that “contains” the “current logged in user”

    15. Daniele
      January 8, 2010 at 10:53 am

      Great!!!
      Thankyou from Italy

    16. JR
      February 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm

      Thank you! I was losing my mind chasing the “group limit” resolution that this error seemed to point to. Your solution fixed my problem.

    17. Maniac
      March 2, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      You’re a maniac!!! Nice work buddy.

    18. kiran
      July 27, 2010 at 2:23 pm

      I am facing same error in Central Administrator on administrator task, Resource webpart,Master page gallery, Site template Gallery, list template Gallery,WebPart Gallery and unable to create site collection ,Please help me for this issues my mind is blocked, any help would be greatly appreciated

      Thanks and Regards

    1. January 9, 2010 at 6:47 am

    Leave a Reply

